Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeGallerySearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Haren's initial thoughts on 6th

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Haren
Venerable Dreadnought
Venerable Dreadnought
Haren

Haren's initial thoughts on 6th Empty
PostSubject: Haren's initial thoughts on 6th   Haren's initial thoughts on 6th Icon_minitime6th July 2012, 11:01 am

Last night I had my first game of 6th ed 40k with my current IDM build of Necrons vs Capnwoodrow and a Chaos SM / Demon ally list. The changes in the way you have to move your units and the changes in the assault phase will take some time to get use to. We didn't have any issues really with the new wound allocation shenanigans (though to be honest we didn't have any Character units, and very few mixed save units.) In the end because I have very little experience against Chaos, I didn't focus fire the right units and lost in the new kill point mission.

The first thing I noticed was that the fliers, while hard to hit, are not invincible. Cap got 2 solid shots on 2 of my fliers, and both ended up being destroyed. One exploded and that was kinda cool, and the other got stunned and then couldn't move 18" and wrecked 1 inch away from a plague marine squad. The flight rules for movement and the Necron 36" & disembark will take some getting use to.

The second thing I noticed was that shooting feels better with the change to closest to furthest wound allocation. We didn't have any units that would cause the wound shifting shenanigans or a mixed armor save so I can't comment about how those will affect my initial thoughts.

Finally the assault phase. Where to start? It's going to be tough to remember not to jump in the movement phase to get the re-roll / I10 hit in the assault phase with jumpers. They need to FAQ chariots a little in combat. Not a 6thism, but I need to remember to not assault a MC with an Overlord with no invuln.