Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeGallerySearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Educate me on air-brushing!

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
crossbonesx11
Chaos Marine covered in styrofoam spiky bits
Chaos Marine covered in styrofoam spiky bits
crossbonesx11

Educate me on air-brushing! Empty
PostSubject: Educate me on air-brushing!   Educate me on air-brushing! Icon_minitime9th May 2011, 3:58 pm

I have been toying with the idea of buying one for a while now but have never got around to it. I have been working on scenery projects and large model projects lately and really do not see them getting painted without using an air-brush. I have no knowledge on them what so ever, so just let me know anything you think I should know! Brands, sizes, where to buy?
Back to top Go down
Haren
Venerable Dreadnought
Venerable Dreadnought
Haren

PostSubject: Re: Educate me on air-brushing!   Educate me on air-brushing! Icon_minitime9th May 2011, 4:25 pm

I know most of the big names online say to buy the best out the gate that way you can grow into the brush, but it's been my experience that if you do that you'll end up not using it for much and wonder why you spend over 500 bucks (compressor and brush plus extras).

When your first starting out, just go to harbor freight and pick up their 29 dollar brush and their top of the line airbrush compressor (like 100 bucks i think.) This brush will let you learn as much as a few of the top of the lines, but at a fraction of the cost. Also since your wanting to use it on models and large displays / terrain then you wont need the finite controls that you need for say airbrush shading that you see on paintings (though you can once you get enough practice).