Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeGallerySearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

tamiya weathering

Go down 
+5
capnwoodrow
littleboyblues
Wildeyedjester
big_d
woroxon
9 posters
AuthorMessage
woroxon
Necron Scarab with rusty hinges

tamiya weathering Empty
PostSubject: tamiya weathering   tamiya weathering Icon_minitime31st July 2009, 11:43 pm

Hello I'm a fairly casual painter, so far i have a few colors all from GW since I like them a lot (all my comparison points are just the testors paint that i used for plane modeling way back when i had 8 years). ok now I ordered a tamitya powdering (the one with burnt oil, red metal and blue metal.) case and would like recommendation on how to get the mos out of it
thanks.
Back to top Go down
big_d
Inquisitor
big_d

tamiya weathering Empty
PostSubject: Re: tamiya weathering   tamiya weathering Icon_minitime31st July 2009, 11:58 pm

I think WildEyedJester is your go to on that front. I know he has used them on his tanks and has had good luck with them. He will probably stick his head in here before long and hopefully he will dispense some of his wisdom upon us.
Back to top Go down
Wildeyedjester
Inquisitor
Wildeyedjester

tamiya weathering Empty
PostSubject: Re: tamiya weathering   tamiya weathering Icon_minitime31st July 2009, 11:59 pm

Its a great little product. The best advice I can give you is to use a sealer on your model first and then apply the weathering. The sealer helps the powder adhere to the model better. I use a pair of approaches when I am working with.

First, for dirtier spots I use the brush end and I just grab a bit of all the colors and brush it across the parts of the model I want covered. I apply it more generously in low areas where I think dirt and grime would settle.